Same day shipping on most orders
Need it before Christmas? Click here for Shipping Calculator
Model#: PWMN1791096
Condition:
New

What are the different product conditions?

New
Brand new items;Full manufacturer warranty available
Reconditioned
Manufacturer inspected, repaired and tested items; CPO 60 day money back guarantee
Open Box
New or Recon items with possible minor cosmetic damage; CPO 60 day money back guarantee
Certified
Returned items inspected, repaired and tested by CPO technicians; CPO 60 day money back guarantee

Powermatic 1791096 4-Piece Mortise Chisel and Bit Set

  • Powermatic 1791096 4-Piece Mortise Chisel and Bit Set
Out of Stock
Want an email when it's back in stock?

Details

These premium hollow chisel and bit sets are machined from solid bars of the finest carbon steel. They have one cutting edge, one spur and a brad point for superior performance, making consistently clean and truly square cuts
Features:
  • Ground and hardened carbon steel for efficient performance and long life
  • Extra long bits for compatibility with different mortisers
  • Makes consistently clean cuts with smooth side walls
Includes:
  • 1/4 in. Bit
  • 5/16 in. Bit
  • 3/8 in. Bit
  • 1/2 in. Bit

Specifications

Length: 10 in.
Width: 5 in.
Height: 1.25 in.
Net Weight: 4 lbs.

Recommendations

Reviews

4.8 / 5.0
10 Reviews
5 Stars
4 Stars
3 Stars
2 Stars
1 Star
8
2
0
0
0
Recommendations
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend (9)
Pros
Easy To Use (4)
Recommendations
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend
Pros
Easy To Use
Quality you would expect
This is a product that really holds up. Pricey, but worth the money.
November 18, 2011
Recommendations
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend
Pros
Easy To Use
Very good product! I would buy again
I will use this product to build woodworking products.
This product is well bult.
January 27, 2012
Recommendations
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend
Quality, and sharp
Cut mortises in hard maple with little effort and left nice crisp lines.
April 18, 2012
Recommendations
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend
Excellent chisels
Chisels are great. I previously used a set of "cheapies," what a difference! Worth the price, buy 'em and be happy!
July 13, 2012
Pros
Easy To Use
Scary Sharp
This is the first set of these bits I have ever owned but I don't know how you could possibly buy a better set. They come super super sharp and seem like they are very high quality. The only thing I wish powermatic would have included was a nice case for the set.
February 17, 2013
Recommendations
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend
Pros
Easy To Use
Nice product
While there are cheaper mortise bits available, these are worth the cost. I just received mine, but have been using a friends set in his shop for a while and thought it was time to get my own machine and bits. Got a good deal on a craig's list PM 701 and ordered the bits from CPO. The four sizes will cover 99% of what I expect to need.
December 24, 2013
Recommendations
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend
Great tools
These babies are sharp and precise. Very nice tools as they should be for twice the money as most other brands.
April 29, 2016
Recommendations
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend
great chisels
created mortises in legs for workbench
November 25, 2015
Recommendations
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend
Nicely made chisels
I've been making replacement cabinet doors for my kitchen and find that cope and stick is not good enough. Mortise and tenon seem to work out very nicely. [...]
April 1, 2011
Recommendations
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend
Good, but not ready for immediate use.
Purchased this chisel and bit set to replace the cheap set that came with my mortiser. For the price, I expected the chisel and bits to be sharp and ready to use right out of the box. The cutting edges on each of the bits and chisels required additional sharpening in order to obtain a finer edge. However, the machining finish was much better than the set that came with the mortiser. I will say that I would purchase the Powermatic set again as long as I could find it on sale. Should you decide to purchase a set for yourself, make sure you have a selection of diamond files available along with chisel sharpening set in order to improve the cutting edges. It took less than 20 minutes to sharpen the set.
January 1, 2015

Questions & Answers

Start typing your question and we'll check if it was already asked and answered. Learn More
Browse 5 questions Browse 5 questions and 9 answers
Do these come in a case?
Paul on Dec 24, 2015
BEST ANSWER: Each bit has its own case. The cases are square cross section, telescoping
that slide apart with ribs that keep them from sliding too easily.
Provides good protection, but not a carry-all. Hope this helps. You can
see one in the attached photo.
Will this set of chisels work with my vintage machine Powermatic Model No. 10 Serial No. 4-10111
Chris on Mar 28, 2015
BEST ANSWER: Yes,the 1791096 chisel and bit set will work with the proper collets.
Anybody know if this will fit the Jet bench top mortiser?
tsdahc on Feb 21, 2013
BEST ANSWER: Yes this Mortise Chisle and Bit Set is compatible with the Jet Bench Top Mortiser.
What is the shaft diameter of the chisels?
Is the outside of chisels polished or just machined?
Chris-TX on Dec 24, 2015
BEST ANSWER: 1/2"
Do you stock 3/4 in.
None on Jan 9, 2014
BEST ANSWER: WE do stock a 5-piece set that has a 3/4" x 1/2" Dia. Mortising Bit & Chisel. The kit number is JETN708585.

Christmas Shipping Cut Offs

Enter your zip code for estimated shipping dates

Order by the dates below to get delivery by Christmas
Standard Delivery *Enter zip code for order by date
Express Delivery
Priority Delivery
Premium Delivery

Orders must be placed by 5PM EST.

Certain items require 2-3 business days to ship and is clearly indicated on the product page. These items cannot be expedited.

Delivery times on Economy and Freight orders vary, exact delivery date cannot be determined.